Chapter History


Through the vision of Mu Kappa Omega’s two charter members, Pamiel Gaskin and Delores Tarver Smith, and the dedication and diligence of a group of visionary women, the Missouri City chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated was formed.  

On June 24, 1978, before the 48th International Conference, which was hosted at the Albert Thomas Convention Center in Houston, the chapter was chartered. The chartering ceremony was officiated by the South Central Regional Director, Deralyn Riles Davis of Fort Worth, Texas.  Mu Kappa Omega was the password at the Boule.  

There were forty three reactivated members as charter members of Mu Kappa Omega Chapter. The photo above is of the first officers of Mu Kappa Omega.

The membership of this chapter includes talented and professional women, who are dedicated to carrying on the traditions, ideas, and goals established by the founders. As community leaders, the women of Mu Kappa Omega Chapter have pooled their resources and talents to help improve the quality of life in Fort Bend County and the metropolitan Houston Area.

The chapter has grown over the years, and as of May 09, 2022 we have five hundred seventy-six (576) members, and we continue to grow.  The membership now includes published authors, entrepreneurs, engineers, schoolteachers, and politicians.  Members continue to uphold the mission – “Members shall cultivate high scholastic achievement; ethical standards and personal development while supporting family unity and implementing effective programs that positively impact the communities we serve.”  

First Chapter Officers
Pamiel Gaskin
1st Vice President:
Delores T. Smith
Recording Secretary:
Janet Odom 
Assistant Recording Secretary:
Claudia Anderson
Recording Secretary:  
Mary Traylor McClelland
Julia Smith Nunn
Financial Secretary:
Margie Taylor
Keeper of the Door:
Gloria Franklin
Normell Wallace Guyden

Ivy Leaf Reporter/ Historian: 
Delores Medlock Duffy

Charter Members

Claudia Anderson

Lillian Bourgeois

Lucy Bremond

Sylvia Burdette  

Regina H. Carrington

Orbdella Clark

Laura Collins

Ada Cooper

Delores M. Duffy

Leola Edwards

Lillie Etienne

Tena Fanuiel

Gloria Franklin

Pamiel Gaskin*

Vanessa Gilmore



* denotes Chapter Founders

Normell W. Guyden

Carolyn Hamilton

Pamela Hobdy

Anna M. Holmes

Jewell T. Hunter

Sharon Lester

Lillian Lincoln

Melba M. Martell

Frankie Mason

Dottie Maxey

Betty Merritte

Janice Munks

Brenda D. North

Julia Smith Nunn

Janet Odom



Rose Odom

Beverly Robinson

Sarah Simon

Carolyn Slater

         Delores T. Smith*                       

Donna D. Smith

Marie Stovall

Margie Taylor

Pamela Taylor

Julia F. Thompson

Mary Traylor

Verstene Traylor

Alice M. Wallace

Past Chapter Presidents
Deborah Bell
Deborah Bell
1989 / 1990
Ivy Levingston
1991 / 1992
Paula Haywood
Jeri Cook
Mary McClelland
Deborah Bell
Alice Thompson
Karen Gibson
1999 / 2000
Jacqueline Watson
2001 / 2002
Kechia Warren-Joseph
2003 / 2004
Jacqueline Caviel
2005 / 2006
Yvette Mitchell
2007 / 2008
Beverly Dixon
2009 / 2010
Tara McDowell
2011 / 2012

Ivory Harrison
2013 / 2014

 Madelyn Nunn
2015 / 2016

 Jacqueline Watson

2017 / 2018

Jessica Hill
2019 / 2020